Allow Me to Complain

Earthquake, anyone? I have a few to spare around here…

Yes, last night was all over sleepless. For the second night in a row I woke up at 12:59 a.m. Why?

No seriously, I want to know – why? 

I was arguing with my brain about going back to sleep, when at 1:07 a.m., I heard (or felt? not sure) this distant weirdness, as if something were coming. You know how you hear something in the distance and you instantly become alert to look for whatever it is? That’s what it felt like. I stopped arguing with my brain to pay attention to it, but in about half a second, it turned into a rattle and jolt.

Scared me silly, for some reason, but after I crawled back into my skin, I laughed with Rick about it, and we settled back – he to sleep, me to resume arguing with my brain. The quake was not more than a 3-pointer… a simple shrug-off.

Until the next jolt. I didn’t time them, but sometime during the next 45 minutes or so, we had three more earthquakes. All of them were teeny grumbles in the 2-3 range. But ya know? That sort of thing can really rattle your cage, so to speak. I wasn’t going to sleep anyway, but poor Rick could have had a chance. In fact, once the world around us settled down, he did go back to sleep.

Me? Not so much. After a few hours, my legs started their own shaking pattern. Restless legs – again. It’s been almost two years since I had such a bad attack at night. I was NOT happy about it! Friggin’, freakin’ legs… get out of bed… grumble, gripe…

So at 4:30, I’m pacing around the living room. Just after five, I grab a blanket and throw myself on couch. I’m cold! Sleep comes eventually and I stay there until 8:20.

I better sleep tonight. That’s all I gotta say.

7 thoughts on “Allow Me to Complain”

  1. You know, I can handle just about anything that comes out of the sky, but I don’t know about an earthquake. Even a little one. I would be so freaked! Glad to hear you finally got some sleep.

  2. I’m with Darke. Hurricanes, tornadoes, ice storms, bring ’em on–but I’d be a nervous Nelly with earthquakes.

    Re: restless leg
    My hubby has this. Usually upping his potassium or eating more bananas help him.

    Hope you have a better night’s sleep tonight.

  3. Been ere, done that. Lived in Calif. and went through them all. 7.3 to 3.5. Didn’t like them one bit. The aftershocks after a big one were worse. Left Calif. after the Landers Quake and never looked back. Live in Colorado, sleep a whole lot better. I feel for you. Hope they stop ad hope that you get some much needed rest.

  4. Oh my gosh, you too? We had a strong one in Trinidad last Friday night around 10pm–6.4, strongest in about 20 years. I was at my computer and the chair and desk started wobbling. I ran for the doorway and then realised my sister was outside feeding the dogs and totally unaware what was happening. I got her to come stand in the steel frame doorway of our kitchen until it passed. It was 30 secs of fear. The next day, we had an aftershock of 6.1 at 2pm. I didn’t feel that one. But I know I went to bed really late on Friday night in part because I couldn’t settle down.There have been a lot of earthquakes all over the world lately. I hope your neck of the woods goes quiet again!

Talk to me!

