Alice was beginning to get very tired of sitting by her sister on the bank and having nothing to do…

I’ve been quiet lately, but believe me, that’s a mercy. I haven’t felt it necessary to subject you to the mundanity of recent weeks. There have been high moments: lunch or dinner with friends, a weekend with two grandsons, and oh – the blueberries have begun to ripen. Yesterday I picked almost a cupful.

Writing is not happening, as I am devoting all my time to a last run-through of Shipbuilder. I’ve done a couple of critiques on OWW and have many more to do.

My back went into a “nerve attack” phase, so I’ve been spending time stretching and walking. I started lifting weights (15 pounds). I can now do four (4!) bicep curls. Go me.

Today is my birthday, marking the day when I am an entire year closer to 60 than I am to 50. That being the case, I made a special effort to see what the Astronomy Picture of the Day is, hoping for something that would set me heart a-flitter. And oh my stars and whistles, go see. I consider it a wonderful birthday gift.

2 thoughts on “Alice was beginning to get very tired of sitting by her sister on the bank and having nothing to do…”

Talk to me!

